Proudly Serving Maryland, Delaware and D.C. News Organizations Since 1908

MDDC Hall of Fame

The MDDC Hall of Fame, established in 1947, honors outstanding newspaper professionals whose careers were marked by excellence at news media organizations in Maryland, Delaware or the District of Columbia. Members of the Hall date back to the 19th century and hail from rural weekly papers, metro-area dailies and everything in between.

The Hall is located in the College of Journalism Building at the Philip Merrill College of Journalism at the University of Maryland College Park. Election to the Hall is a distinctive honor, and to be nominated a person must be or have been long-employed at a news media organization that either is a member or eligible to be a member of the Association.

In the Spring of 2021, MDDC convened a Hall of Fame committee to examine the Hall of Fame and make recommendations to the Board to make the Hall more inclusive and to recognize the contributions to journalism and the business of journalism by underrepresented communities. Read the MDDC Board of Directors’ resolution.

Nominations are accepted year-round, though must be received by January 30 for consideration for that year’s Hall of Fame class.  Nominations received before January 30 are considered by the Executive Committee, and the honorees are voted on by the full Board.  See below for the full listing of the Hall of Fame members. 

2018Deborah CornelyEditor & PublisherThe Dundalk Eagle
2018Rick CullenEditorThe Daily Times
2016Ed Waters, Jr.Reporter & PhotographerFrederick News-Post
2015Lee A. McCardell;
Christmas Letter 1944
Reporter & EditorThe Baltimore Sun
2015Carl J. MurphyPublisherThe AFRO-American Newspapers
2014Mary J. CoreySenior Vice President & Director of ContentBaltimore Sun Media Group
2014Denise RileyEditor EmeritusThe Star Democrat
2014Brice StumpJournalist & PhotographerThe Daily Times
2013James S. Keat
2016 Obituary
EditorBaltimore Sun
2013    Tom MarquardtPublisherAnnapolis Capital & MD Gazette
2013Carol MelamedVP, Government AffairsThe Washington Post
2012Bruce HotchkissEditorDelmarva Farmer
2012    Lou Panos
2013 obituary
ReporterBaltimore Sun
2011William H. KerbinEditorWorcester County Times
2011Nicholas HorrockJournalistWashington Examiner / Baltimore Sun
2011W. Curtis RiddlePublisherNews Journal
2010Mike MahrDirector of AdvertisingWashington Times
2010Jean F. MoonManaging EditorPatuxent Publishing
2010Ralph MoyedReporterNews Journal
2010Zeke OrlinskyPublisherPatuxent Publishing
2009Bill BurtonEditorBaltimore Evening Sun/Bay Weekly
2009Jim Flood, Sr.PublisherDover Post
2009Dan TablerColumnistQueen Anne’s Record Observer
2009Sid YudainPublisherRoll Call
2008Harry C. BlackPublisherBaltimore Sun
2008Herb BlockEditorial CartoonistThe Washington Post
2008Philip MerrillPublisherAnnapolis Capital & MD Gazette
2008John Henry Murphy Sr. 
2010 Obituary
Editor/PublisherThe AFRO-American Newspapers
2008Moses NewsonManaging EditorThe AFRO-American Newspapers
2008Shirley PovichColumnistThe Washington Post
2008George E. RandallPublisherThe Frederick News-Post
2008Robert B. Sincell Sr.PublisherThe Republican
2008John SteadmanReporter/WriterBaltimore News-American/Sun
2007Tom BradleePublisherChesapeake Publishing
2006Edwin Warfield III;
PublisherThe Daily Record Company
2005Meg Greenfield
1999 obituary
Editorial Page EditorThe Washington Post
2004James M. Schurz
2009 obituary
2003Edward D. Casey
2008 obituary
EditorAnnapolis Capital & MD Gazette
2002J. Suter Kegg
2002 obituary
EditorCumberland Times-News
2001Katharine Graham
2021 obituary
PublisherThe Washington Post
2000Roger B. Farquhar
2005 obituary
EditorMontgomery County Sentinel
1999Joseph R.L. Sterne
2021 obituary
Editorial Page EditorBaltimore Sun
1998W. Wright Robinson
2003 obituary
ColumnistLeader & State Register
1997Benjamin Bradlee
2014 obituary
EditorThe Washington Post
1995Jon Franklin
1995 obituary
WriterBaltimore Sun
1994Sam Lacy
2003 obituary
ReporterThe AFRO-American Newspapers
1993George B. Delaplaine Jr.PublisherFrederick News-Post
1992E. Ralph Hostetter
2019 obituary
PublisherDelmarva Farmer
1991Frank WoodfieldCopy EditorBaltimore Sun
1990Bernard J. (Jack) SmythEditor/PublisherDelaware State News
1990William Penn Frank
1989 obituary
ColumnistWilmington News Journal
1988Gerald W. Johnson
1980 obituary
Op-Ed Writer/ColumnistThe New Republic
1986Gertrude Poe,
2017 obituary
Editor/PublisherLaurel Leader
1985Arunah S. AbellPublisherBaltimore Sun papers
1985Louis Azrael
1981 obituary
ColumnistBaltimore News-American
1984A. Aubrey Bodine
2005 obituary
PhotographerBaltimore Sun papers
1984Anne Catherine Hoof GreenPublisherMaryland Gazette
1984Williams ParksPublisherMaryland Gazette
1974Charles Neill BaylorEditorHagerstown Herald & Daily Mail
1974Elmer M. (Jay) Jackson III
1972 obituary
EditorAnne Arundel Times
1974Henry Louis ‘H.L.’ MenckenColumnistBaltimore Sun papers
1974B.C.F. (Joe) MulieriEditorAnne Arundel Star
1974John D. Worthington Jr.PublisherThe Aegis
1955Andrew Banks Jr.EditorBaltimore News-Post
1954Dr. Edward Clarke
*Removed from Hall of Fame, 2021
Editor/PublisherWorcester Democrat
1954Robert E. DelaplainePublisherFrederick News-Post
1953Michael William AkerEditorQueenstown News
1953William Malone BaskervilleEditor/PublisherBaltimore News-Post
1953William Wakefield DukePublisher/JudgeCalvert Journal
1952Aloysius Fenwick KingEditorSt. Mary’s Beacon
1952Paul Chenery Patterson
1952 obituary
PublisherBaltimore Sun papers
1952Paul StrombergPublisherStromberg Publications
1947Benjamin H. Sincell
1947 obituary
Editor/PublisherThe Republican