Proudly Serving Maryland, Delaware and D.C. News Organizations Since 1908

Editorial Rookie of the Year

Rookie of the Year honors a new journalist with less than 18 months’ experience in the field.  Journalists are nominated by their member publication and are required to submit five clips as well as a letter of recommendation.  Nominations are accepted through the Editorial Contest.  2015 marked the first year for this award.

Past recipients of the Rookie of the Year Award:

2022Ethan EhrenhaftBaltimore Sun Media Group
2021Christine CondonThe Baltimore Sun
2020Daniel OyefusiThe Baltimore Sun
2019Kristen GriffithThe Enterprise
2018Talia RichmanThe Baltimore Sun
2017Jesse DoughertyThe Washington Post
2016Fatima WaseemThe Baltimore Sun
2015Brittany HornThe Daily Times
2014Rachael PacellaThe Daily Times