Proudly Serving Maryland, Delaware and D.C. News Organizations Since 1908

Board of Directors


The MDDC Press Association is governed by an 18-member Board of Directors under the direction of the Executive Committee. President, Vice President, Secretary and Treasurer are elected officers who serve one-year terms each November.

The Association has several committees in addition to the Executive Committee which are integral in charting the direction of the Association.

MDDC is governed by a Board of Directors. The Board Officers—President, Vice President, Treasurer, Secretary, and Immediate Past President—constitute the Association’s Executive Committee.  

If you are interested in serving on the board, or getting more involved in your association, please contact Rebecca Snyder, Executive Director.

Board of Directors – Executive Committee

Mike Feeley
Executive Editor, The News Journal
Wilmington, DE

Vice President
Chris Rausch, Co-Publisher, Cape Gazette
Rehoboth, DE

Dawn Gessel
Advertising Director, The Herald-Mail
Hagerstown, MD

Konrad LaPrade
Publisher, Independent Newsmedia, Inc
Dover, DE

Immediate Past President

Denise Rolark Barnes
Publisher, The Washington Informer
Washington, DC

Board of Directors

Joy Bramble, Publisher, Baltimore Times
Baltimore, MD

Patrick Brannan, Managing Editor, The Daily Record Baltimore, MD 

Chad Campbell, Assistant General Manager of Operations, APG Media, Easton, MD

Chris Gunty, Associate Publisher, The Catholic Review Baltimore, MD

Lenora Howze, Executive Director, AFRO News Baltimore, MD

Konrad LaPrade, Group Publisher, Independent Newsmedia, Inc. Dover, DE

Len Lazarick, President and Chairman,
Columbia, MD

Susan Lyons, Publisher, Coastal Point
Ocean View, DE

James McLaughlin, Deputy General Counsel, The Washington Post Washington, DC

Andy Schotz, Managing Editor, The Frederick News-Post Frederick, MD

Anne Tallent, Executive Editor, MoCo 360

Bethesda, MD

Tim Thomas, Senior Vice President, Business Development, The Baltimore Sun Media Group Baltimore, MD

Geordie Wilson, Publisher, The Frederick News-Post Frederick, MD

Past Presidents

Since its inception in 1908, the Press Association has been led by a dedicated group of newspaper and media professionals who generously volunteered their time and service to charting the direction of the Association and leading the cause for news media and for the First Amendment.

2022Len LazarickMarylandReporter.comColumbia, MD
2021Darel La PradeIndependent Newsmedia, Inc.Dover, DE
2020Christopher GuntyThe Catholic ReviewBaltimore, MD
2019Brian KaremJust Ask The Question
2018Robin QuillonCumberland Times-NewsCumberland, MD
2017Jake WomerThe Herald-MailHagerstown, MD
2016Geordie WilsonFrederick News-PostFrederick, MD
2015Benjamin Phillips, IVThe AFRO-American NewspapersBaltimore, MD & DC
2014Suzanne Fischer-HuettnerThe Daily RecordBaltimore, MD
2013Paul MiltonBaltimore Sun Media GroupBaltimore, MD
2012Pat RichardsonCarroll County TimesWestminster, MD
2011Dennis ForneyCape GazetteLewes, DE
2010Myron RandallThe Frederick News-PosFrederick
2009David FikeChesapeake Publishing Corp.Easton, MD
2008Chris EddingsThe Daily RecordBaltimore, MD
2007Richard H. Amberg, Jr.The Washington TimesWashington, DC
2006Karen ActonSouthern Maryland NewspapersWaldorf, MD
2005John LeagueThe Herald-MailHagerstown, MD
2003-04Jeffrey MezzatestaCecil WhigElkton, MD
2002-03Tom SchmidtCarroll Publishing CompanyWashington, DC
2001-02Michael S. Powell*The Frederick News-PostFrederick, MD
2000-01Legusta FloydThe Prince George’s PostUpper Marlboro, MD
1999-00Carol MelamedThe Washington PostWashington, DC
1998-99Deborah CornelyThe Dundalk EagleDundalk, MD
1997-98Larry E. EffinghamThe Star DemocratEaston, MD
1995-97Jean C. HalleThe Baltimore SunBaltimore, MD
1995Fred C. TembyThe Herald-MailHagerstown, MD
1994-95John J. Oliver, Jr.The Afro AmericanBaltimore, MD
1993-94George E. Randall*The Frederick News-PostFrederick, MD
1992-93John B. HollandComprint Inc.Gaithersburg, MD
1991-92Margaret Scott SchiffThe Washington PostWashington, DC
1990-91Jean F. MoonPatuxent Publishing Co.Columbia, MD
1989-90Edward D. Casey*The CapitalAnnapolis, MD
1988-89Milton Mitchell*
2014 Obituary
Atlantic PublicationsLaurel, DE
1987-88Edward E. Beeler*
2008 Obituary
Carroll County TimesWestminster, MD
1986-87John D. Worthington, IVThe AegisBel Air, MD
1985-86Tom Mills*
2007 Obituary
The Frederick News-PostFrederick, MD
1984-85Thomas F. BradleeCecil WhigElkton, MD
1983-84George O’Connell*The Daily RecordBaltimore, MD
1982-83Raymond E. MahaffeySuburban RecordSilver Spring, MD
1981-82James M Schurz*
2009 Obituary
The Herald-MailHagerstown, MD
1980-81Robert Reid*The Bowie Blade-NewsBowie, MD
1978-79Allen C. JacksonAnne Arundel TimesAnnapolis, MD
1977-78John P. McMullenCumberland Times-NewsCumberland, MD
1976-77John D. Worthington, III*The AegisBel Air, MD
1975-76Richard L. MooreThe Daily TimesSalisbury, MD
1974-75Louis L. Goldstein*Calvert Journal-Gazette 
1973-74Paul T. Broderick*
1996 Obituary
The Evening SunBaltimore, MD
1972-73William R. Cronin*
2015 Obituary
Harford DemocratAberdeen, MD
1971-72Bernard Sitter*Cumberland Times-NewsCumberland, MD
1970-71William H. KerbinDemocratic MessengerSnow Hill, MD
1969-70Franklin D. Schurz,  Jr.The Herald-MailHagerstown, MD
1968-69Roger B. Farquhar*Montgomery County SentinelRockville, MD
1967-68Omer J. Shively*The News JournalWilmington, DE
1966-67Phillip St.C. Thompson*Ellicott City TimesEllicott City, MD
1965-66George B. Delaplaine,  Jr.The Frederick News-PostFrederick, MD
1964-65Elmer M. Jackson,  III*Maryland GazetteGlen Burnie, MD
1963-64George O. Rash*The Herald-MailHagerstown, MD
1962-63E. Ralph Hostetter*
2019 obituary
Cecil WhigElkton, MD
1961-62Phillip S. Heisler*The Evening SunBaltimore, MD
1960-61William G. Kervin,  Jr.*Democratic MessengerSnow Hill, MD
1959-60J. Stephen Becker*News-PostBaltimore, MD
1958-59Gertrude Poe*
2017 obituary
News LeaderLaurel, MD
1957-58Oscar L. Morris*The Salisbury TimesSalisbury, MD
1956-57Charles Gerwig*Stromberg PublicationsEllicott City, MD
1955-56C. Neill Baylor*The Herald-MailHagerstown, MD
1953-54Norman W. Harrington*The Star DemocratEaston, MD
1952-53John McCormick*Westminster TimesWestminster, MD
1949-51Elmer M. Jackson, Jr.*Capital-Gazette PressAnnapolis, MD
1949Blair Lee,  III*Maryland NewsSilver Spring, MD
1947-48Glenn T. James*Record-ObserverCenterville, MD
1944-46Paul G. Stromberg*Ellicott City TimesEllicott City, MD
1941-43G. Arthur McDaniel*The TimesFederalsburg, MD
1939-40Leo M. Moore*Democratic LedgerHavre de Grace, MD
1935Samuel E. Shannahan*The Star DemocratEaston, MD
1932-34John D. Worthington*The AegisBel Air, MD
1931J.P. Curley*Laurel Leader 
1930Paul G. Stromberg*Ellicott City TimesEllicott City, MD
1927James Finian* Annapolis, MD
1924-26Ridgely P. Melvin*The CapitalAnnapolis, MD
1923James Finian* Cumberland, MD
1922Ridgely P. Melvin*The CapitalAnnapolis, MD
1921Clarence Vincent*Democratic MessengerSnow Hill, MD
1913William S. Powell*  
Affiliations represent the publication name at the time of the term.